Introductions

So, yet another blog about writing.  And another about worldbuilding.

Great.

Lots of writers and others have been discussing both on the web and in print for a long time, so what’s the point?  Most, if not all, I’ve seen present their views or method as the only way.  Due to teaching, I try to present multiple views, methods, and explanations.  After all, what works for one person doesn’t work for everyone.  For instance, J.R.R. Tolkien and Terry Pratchett made worlds as they desired for their stories, other writers are more scientific in their worldbuilding.  Likewise, R.A. Heinlein knew the beginning and end of his novels but filled in the rest as he went along, while Chelsea Quinn Yarbro and J.K. Rowling mapped out an entire series before writing.

My goal is to present my views, my musings, on the subjects as one (or two or three) methods of many and to try to note other options as well.  Maybe more to pose questions and my ever evolving thoughts and approaches to writing and worldbuilding.

My primary purpose in creating this blog is to collect my thoughts on the subjects.  I do worldbuilding as a hobby (or compulsion) and write (and teach writing) professionally.  Along the way, I’ll probably include some links and quotes that I find helpful for both activities.

2 comments on “Introductions

  1. indytony says:

    I look forward to seeing what develops here. I’m blogging about writing myself. Perhaps we might learn from each other.

    Like

    • lordtaltos says:

      We’ll see what happens. I have a few broad strokes ideas about what I’d like to talk about with each, but plan on taking things a step at a time for details.

      Might sideline into talking about education from time to time too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

